Today, I got to spend time with friends, examining new ways to gently foster intimate conversation in my marriage. Like most addicts, I find that I would rather medicate and avoid problems than deal with them in healthy ways. It becomes increasingly frustrating when both parties are wearing “make it go away” masks.

My Creator, I am now willing that you should have all of me, good and bad, real and fake, problems and plastic smiles, healthy and destructive. I ask that you now take away every single defect of character (every pretense, every artificial substitute for the free expression of grace I am supposed to enjoy and reflect to others) that stands in the way of my usefullness to you and my fellows. Grant me strength as I go out from here (and wherever else I may tend to hide and isolate) that I may better do your will.

The preacher spoke of the mission each individual has in his/her life, and emphasized that we are empowered, inspired, and instructed “SO THAT” we can do for others. That is the message of the 12-step program of recovery. Freedom comes by working the steps… “SO THAT” we can share it with others. I love that my preacher gets it!

